Triangle geometry, curves

Dirtyburger

Hi, im a student aka newbie, building a program where i want to draw a curved line between two randomized points but i dont know how to approach it.

Im currently using the quadraticBezierCurve together with the two known points  but i need a way of figuring out how to calculate the control point.

Image of the situation: http://imgur.com/a/mYoXJ

Or can i somehow find the position in the middle of the points, angle myself outwards and move N steps outwards depending on how steep i want my curve? 

Hi @Dirtyburger, welcome to the forum.  Sorry for the slow replies.

I used our playground searcher (search in code field)... to search for all occurrences of 'bezier'.  I ignored all the ones that spoke-of BezierEasing, because that is a feature of Babylon Animation, which is not really on-topic.  :)  I was left with 3 playground demos... that COULD be your answer.  (Unfortunately, I have not worked with Beziers/lines very much, but I'm a pretty good searcher.)

#1.  https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#RF9W9#367

In the above demo, I think the Bezier handle is... line 47.  Play with those numbers... see if you smile.  :)

#2. https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1023O#48

Again, we see a vector3... in the middle of two others... at line 101... which is the yellow line.  At lines 108 and 109, we see TWO vector3's in the middle of 2 others.  Is this a 2-handle Bezier?  A close look at the orange line... it COULD INDEED be a 2-handle beast.  :)

#3. https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#YSXOQ#0  

I don't know if there is anything worthwhile there, but what the heck, we'll bring it along for the ride.

Hope this helps.  Smarter people than I... will likely comment soon.  Good luck... tell us about your troubles and/or discoveries, if you wish.  thx.  Party on!