Basic questions about the basic template

Biggerplay

I'm completely new to JS, and I'm just trying to get my head around the JS in the basic template, few questions.

game.state.add('Boot', BasicGame.Boot);

In the index.html file, the above is used to add a state, but how can the index file use BasicGame if that is not defined yet? as BasicGame is defined in boot.js which runs after the setting up of the states?

BasicGame = {};

That creates a function? which basically acts as a class?

BasicGame.Boot = function (game) {};

What's the point of the above? (in the boot.js file) why does the game var need to be passed to it? does it act as a constructor?

What calls the create function in the boot.js file? I'm trying to understand the program flow in the basic example, what calls what and when.

everything in the head section is loaded before the body section. (incidentally this is why you don't want to have too much in the head section - users will have to wait until everything there is loaded before they see anything on your page). so all the scripts are loaded by the time the onload handler runs.

BasicGame = {}; 

creates a javascript object, not a function. (a function actually IS an object, but not vice-versa).

the template is using the 'BasicGame' object as a namespace to contain all the things about the game. this keeps you from junking up the global namespace, which is a common source of bugs in javascript. 

BasicGame.Boot = function( game ) ...