Discuss about Phaser.Plugin development

Rafarel

Hello there!

I'm totally new to your forum and it's my first post, here's a quick introduction about me:

I'm a French developer who makes games in his free time like Claytus Tower Defense and who works on 360° video web technologies at my job (Kolor).

I want to take part on Phaser development and Phaser Plugins development and I want to know how to do it well!

I spent the last few days to watch every demo and read the documentation that Phaser provides, it looks to me to be a very good project and a strong knowledgeable team.

I haven't found any "How to" or "Good practices guide" about Phaser.Plugin development and submitting.

I wanted to start by providing a path finder plugin that works with a Phaser.Tilemap and a JSON file made with the Tiled Software.

I ran through some "How the hell can I achieve this the proper way?" kinda questions :)

Maybe you can confirm that I'm right or wrong doing on some points:

Need more data from the JSON parser:

In the process I needed to adapt the Phaser.TilemapParser.parseTiledJSON because I wanted to have the tileproperties on the layer object from the TiledJSON file. (made in Tiled software)

These properties are omitted by the original function so I added this line to my override one:

tileProperties: json.tilesets[0].tileproperties

Maybe there's a better way to achieve this, but I didn't find it.

I'd love to pass an additional data {'stringIndex', ... } arguments to game.load.tilemap for example:

game.load.tilemap('desert', 'assets/maps/tilemap.json', null, Phaser.Tilemap.TILED_JSON, {'tileproperties'});

Adding a debug method:

I wanted to output the calculated path by drawing a line on the screen, so on my plugin file, I added a function to the Debug prototype:

Phaser.Utils.Debug.prototype.AStar = function(astar, color){    ... Drawing the last calculated path by astar plugin object ...}

Here is a screenshot of my work in progress. (debug draw is the red line)