How to sort Z depth of sprites using a custom Z value?

ddabrahim

Hi.

I'm new to Phaser and would like to ask for some help with sorting Z depth of sprites using a custom Z value.

I know the same question have been asked a million times on the forum but in most case the replies are link to examples and tutorials that explains only that we need to add our sprites to a group and use the sort() method to get the sprites Z depth sorted. I understand that, but I'm really would like to use a custom Z values to sort my sprites.

What I'm trying to do, after added all my sprites to a group, I loop through all the children in the group and set their Z value manually, after run the sort() method on the group and I was hoping it is going to sort the Z depth but it does not. This is my code:

create: function(){

for(var i = 0; i <= 50; i++){

group.children[i].z = 100;

}

for(var i = 51; i <= 100; i++){

group.children[i].z = 120;

}

},

update: function(){

group.sort(Phaser.Group.SORT_ASCENDING);

}

According to the documentation, If my understanding is correct, the sort() method should use the Z value of each children by default to sort the rendering order. But it is not the case. What seems to happening instead,  it override the Z values of the children with their index value. For example, as you can see in my code I set the z value of children[5] to be 100, but what the sort() method seem to be doing is replace 100 with the index number which is 5. If I check the value of Z it return 5 and not 100. If I don't run group.sort() it solves the problem, if I check the value it returns 100 as I would expect, but it does not seem to sort the rendering order without running the sort() method on the group.