Should I use Phaser 3?

Kevin84

I just started game dev and want to make a simple 2D browser-based game.

I tried using Phaser 3 but it is getting very frustrating due to lack of examples and documentation. All good examples I find seem to be for Phaser 2.

Should I just use Phaser 2 then?

@Kevin84 Phaser 3 is so hot, it has just been out recently, it is a result of months of hard work, documentation is on the way, but you need to be patient, or contribute with examples :) Yes, I would advice to start to use Phaser 2 until then, which has a very good documentation, and once you will comfortable using Phaser 2 you will find there are a lot of overlapping with Phaser 3 i guess. 

I'm in the same boat as this guy. I'm a practiced JavaScript developer, but this would be my first game. Phaser 3 looks promising, but I have to turn out a project in a month. Is phaser 3 intuitive enough that I should just power through it using the examples, or just work with phaser 2 for now?

On 3/1/2018 at 10:43 AM, pixelhijack said:

@Kevin84 Phaser 3 is so hot, it has just been out recently, it is a result of months of hard work, documentation is on the way, but you need to be patient, or contribute with examples :) Yes, I would advice to start to use Phaser 2 until then, which has a very good documentation, and once you will comfortable using Phaser 2 you will find there are a lot of overlapping with Phaser 3 i guess. 

Poor project management demonstrated by severe deadlines and funding constraints. Phaser3 is really still in a "marketing 'release"  Phaser 3 is beginning it's documentation phase ... in the industry this is still considered a "release candidate"

7 hours ago, PBMCube said:

Phaser 3 is beginning it's documentation phase ... in the industry this is still considered a "release candidate"

A "release candidate" by who has succesfully produced a html gamedev industry standard more or less with Phaser2.