I need to know more about Game development please

Beny

Hello,

I am a PHP programmer with knowledge of Javascript. I have never developed a game in my life and this is new to me.

I understand that Babylon.js is a frame with functions that help you create effects and other cool things but the part I am not understanding is the design part.

1)let's say I need to have little soldiers running on the field with castles, how to design them? Is there an open source software out there that help you design these sprites as I would really struggle making them in Photoshop.

2)On which device a game made with Babylon.js can run on?

3)Is there a way to create multiplayer games with score board or is Babylon limited?

4)Compared to an engine like Unity, can Babylon create games as good?

Thank you so much!

@Beny welcome to the community!

1) Blender is popular, free, open-source and cross-platform software for creating 3D models and animations that can be imported into Babylon.js. It takes some learning and there's no getting around that but there are lots of great resources online to learn. For 2D "pixel art" sprites you can use Photoshop or The GIMP or Krita but Babylon.js is more of a 3D engine than a 2D engine although it does have support for 2D sprites.

2) Any device or web browser that supports javascript and WebGL ... see Can I Use WebGL but performance will vary depending on the complexity of your game and the hardware that it's running on.

3) Babylon.js is a 3D engine and doesn't explicitly handle things like multiplayer or game logic - you need to handle that stuff yourself and there's many options depending on your game's genre and desired gameplay etc. See Colyseus for one multiplayer option that works nicely with Bablylon.js