PixieJS Isometric Height-Tilemap

tomcolaa

Hi,

I'm new to this forum so hi to everyone! :) Currently, I'm trying to build an isometric tilemap that also displays a certain height. Here is a demo: https://www.pixiplayground.com/#/edit/69C1wfNIowvu5wNNccv8w
I have the following problems and maybe somebody could guide me in the right direction.

1. Shadows: When I remove the lineStyle, different heights and the depth of the scene are not really recognizable. I think this could be solved with proper lighting and shadows. Any suggestions on how to implement this?

2. Sprites & Performance: I'm currently calculating all vertices manually and then I draw a PIXI.Graphics-Polygon according to the vertices. Is there a more efficient way to do this. I'm not very experienced with PIXI.Mesh, SimpleMesh or SimplePlane. I wanted to use the PIXI.SimplePlane first but the documentation seems to be wrong... In addition to the mesh generation do you have any tips on how to properly cover the mesh with sprites, soften the edges and smoothly transition between different sprites.

3. Player movements & buildings: In the future I'd like to be able to add players and buildings. This is not so important right now but as the objects will heavily interact with the map, I'm happy if you have some guidance on this topic as well.

Thank you very much!
All the best
Tom

Welcome to the forums!

For debugging its easier to use "nativeLine" setting in lineStyle.

Shadows - oh there are just so many ways to do them that I cant eloborate before you do some research how its done in other. PixiJS is just renderer. You have to look how people do it in any other 2d engines then decide which one will be easier to do in pixi first. Then try another maybe.

Layering might be involved so prepare to go through pixi-layers plugin examples: you can do it manually anyway but plugin will make it faster, however it wont help you if you dont understand how do you want shadows to be rendered in general.