Is it worth adding pixi.js to my skills

TheCrock

I am a real newbie. 

I just finished the excellent book Foundation Game Design with HTML5 and Javascript by Rex Van Der Spuy.

The book has taught me a lot about making game maps from 2d arrays, collision detection, enemy AI for platform and maze games based on arrays.All of the AI is based on positions generated from 2d arrays.

I can keep track of everything by the positions of sprites in rows and columns of a 2d array.This makes enemy AI easy.

I have a scripts for collisions for rectangles, circles, boxes, that give me collision sides and objects can bounce from them. Also  to act as platforms and so on. 

I would render the game by looping through an array and converting positions in the array to x and y coordinates on the screen.This is all using the html5 Canvas.

I started his follow up book Learn Pixi.js and I am not sure if it is the right direction for me.

My question is can I use all of this stuff I have learned and combine it with the Pixijs?

To me it seems like I have spent a lot of time learning tile based games just to go in a completely different and in my opinion less satisfactory direction.The game that I would make by the end of the Pixi.js  book would be simpler than the one i already made.It just looks nicer. It uses a single image for the background and uses arrays only to get the images from the texture atlas.

All i really want is to add 'the juice' from pixi.js. Like animated walking characters and some particle effects.

Can any of you guys give me some advice.

Thanks in advance

Keith

Edited by TheCrock

PixiJS is one of renderers that has several good plugins integrating it with bigger stuff.

I would render the game by looping through an array and converting positions in the array to x and y coordinates on the screen.This is all using the html5 Canvas.

yeah, that's the case.