Tutorial: How to make a Flappy Bird in HTML5 with Phaser

lessmilk

Hello,

I just wrote a Phaser tutorial on how to make a simple Flappy Bird clone in 65 lines of Javascript.

You can read the tutorial here: blog.lessmilk.com

Edit: And here's the part 2 of the tutorial.

post-6087-0-89981700-1392914020.png

If you are new to Phaser, this can be a good way to discover how Phaser works.

And if you already know well Phaser, I'd love to hear your feedback!

Thanks for the tutorial, just what i was looking for, a nice and simple implementation.

Question:

How can you make it so that score only increments when the player passes through the pipe, and not when the pipe appears on the screen?

At the moment the score increments before player has reached the pipe.

Thanks a lot for your feedback! :-)

I am a beginner in game development, your games inspired me to start using Phaser  :)

Thank you for the tutorial, very helpful for a beginner!

Wow, that's awesome! Welcome to the wold of Phaser developers then ;-)

Thanks for the tutorial, just what i was looking for, a nice and simple implementation.

Question:

How can you make it so that score only increments when the player passes through the pipe, and not when the pipe appears on the screen?

At the moment the score increments before player has reached the pipe.

I made it that way to keep the code as simple as possible. There are lots of way to do this, for examples:

- Add an invisible sprite where the hole is. When the bird hit this sprite, increase the score by one and kill the sprite.

- Or check in the update function if a pipe is behind the bird. When that happens, increase the score by one and set a flag to not count the same pipe twice.

adding row of pipes based on time is a bad idea because on low end devices the rows are sticked together making the game unplayable.

You are right. However:

- On low end devices playing a reflex game is never going to be a great experience anyway