Anyone using ES6 yet?

alex_h

I've been thinking about starting to work in ES6, but then I saw this article:

http://www.incaseofstairs.com/2015/06/es6-feature-performance/

so now I'm having second thoughts. By the sound of it the transpiled code may often run more slowly than writing equivalent code directly in non-ES6 javascript. Is there anyone using Babel or Traceur or equivalent to write their games that could comment on their experience of this?

I've been using ES6 every day for the past 18 months (first using Traceur, now using Babel).

Don't let that article scare you.

I haven't done any benchmarks but subjectively I haven't noticed any performance hit at all.

(But over that same period I've noticed many performance problems due Chrome and Firefox rendering hiccups through different browser versions.)

I would just go with the flow and enjoy ES6.

Unless you writing a game in Assmebly, you're always going to have a big performance overhead anyway because your high level code that has to work it's way down through dozens of software and architectural layers.

And each layer takes its bit of performance tax.

So I would just let the browsers and transpilers work on optimization under the hood for you - they'll sort it all out over time.