Issue with bumpTexture rendering

Origami

Hey all!

I'm fairly new to the babylon framework (and this is my first forum post--hey again!), but after coding in it nonstop for a few weeks, I have a decent handle on it. Or so I thought.

I'm trying to give my objects textures, and while it works on babylon-created meshes, I get no love from my own imported OBJs or .Babylon files.

I'm sure I'm just doing something incorrectly/missing a setting, but for the life of me, I can't figure it out.

And of course, obligatory playground demonstrating this issue: http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#XTJQS#1

//EDIT: And now I can't get my .babylon or .obj files to load from my server. I swear they were working before. Does anyone have any samples so we can replicate the issue?

Thanks!

testDog.babylon

teddy.obj

Hiya @Origami, welcome to the forum!  I don't know much about .obj importing, but I DO know that your .babylon file has no UVs in it.  I see only positions and indices.  And, I'm not a modeling expert, either, so I can't remember why Blender/Max/Unity/whatever... would not export UVs by default.  It is likely because it is un-textured in your modeling software.

.babylon files are really .json files, and you can use online .json viewers to "tree-ify" or "pretty-fy" the contents of your .babylon files.  I suggest you keep doing experiments and keep trying various exports... until you see UV's in your .babylon file.  After that, applying textures SHOULD be a much more tolerable task.

Hey Wingnut! After reading through so many of your forum posts, I feel like I'm speaking with a celebrity! Niccccce.

Do you have a sample .babylon file with the UVS in it (I see that it's 'just' float-formatted data for the vertexes)? I'd love to throw it into my app and see if that fixes the issue.

:) Thanks, but I'm really just a local blowhard.  Good to have you with us.  I already like your personality and spirit.