Need help to fix: Making an adventure game pathfinding room using easystar and phaser

jdiperla

Good afternoon,

I was hoping that the community could look over my code and see if something needs to be adjusted. I recently started learning Javascript and I just started learning Phaser and easystar yesterday so this might all look ridiculous. At the moment all I am trying to accomplish is pathfinding the way it is done in a point and click adventure game such as Monkey Island or Day of the Tentacle from Lucasarts. I am trying to achieve it much how AGS(Adventure Game Studio) allows the user to set it up. Basically, you import a room image and then you draw over the room with a chosen color(Sort of like drawing a mask) all the area's that a character can walk and find a path to and from. 

What I am trying to achieve in my code is the same principle above and I am trying to use easystar and Phaser to accomplish this. Let me explain my code:

I have three images: the 'background' image which will load up the image of the room the character will be in. 'walkablepath' will be the image that contains the image mask. Anything that is hot pink is where the character can walk. 'maincharacter' is the player character that will find the path when we click on a part of the screen we want the player to go to.