Questions from a HTML5 rookie: Unity, market and web portals

Roth

Hi. I'm a programmer and designer who is currently deciding about the next steps in gamedev. I've been reading about the market and got mixed info about some topics, so I'd like to ask you.

1. Unity: Is Unity WebGL considered HTML5 for the purposes of this market? Do these game portals (Y8 and alikes) accept Unity WebGL games?
2. Talking about market: how exactly does the market works? The newbie way is to submit the game to portals, with APIs that grants us a very small sum of money after thousands of impressions? Any other important strategies?
3. Let's say I have a game done (good enough to have fun, not good enough to sell for a thousand bucks): What should I do next?

For clarification, I'm not a complete newbie, but I know very little about HTML5 and it seems like an interesting path to go.

Thanks.

Some examples of previous works:
scXho4.gif

nexmachinan.gif?w=531&h=300

galacticats-a2.gif

• 5 months later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...

I too would be interested to hear. I know that at least in the past mobile browser support for Unity WebGL was an issue and I'm guessing the 3D stuff would not run well on old phones. I also know that at least some publishers consider Unity WebGL games different from generic "HTML5" games. Right now I'm thinking the Unity "Project Tiny" will be eventually absorbed by Unity "DOTS", which could become a decent way to deploy Unity projects to the web.

If you are asking this question then you are probably planning to make a game first, then hope to find an audience / monetisation second.  If so use whatever tool you like - it really won't make much difference to the financial outcome but will make a huge difference to your enjoyment and productivity in the meanwhile.  Be mindful that Unity is proprietary, it is offered as a service, there is no entitlement to it.  Therefore Godot might be worth a direct comparison for similar tooling.