Decisions to take before starting a game

prtksxna

Hey,

I am starting development on a new game. I have some experience in HTML5 games and have a made a few in the past - Cascade and Vertigo. I wish to make this one more polished and (hopefully) for more platforms. I didn't use any library in Vertigo and as it was pretty simple I didn't face too many problems. I have a lot of questions in my head and there are so many resources out there that I can't make any decisions. I'd be grateful if you could help :)  - 

1. Animations: Animated GIFs don't work on Canvas :(  Should I do my own animation using spritesheets. Are their any tools that are used to create spritesheets from animated GIFs in photoshop? Is there a better way to do this?

2. Physics: The physics for this game is pretty simple. I had used the Euler's Method for integration last time. Does it make sense to use the Runge Kutta integrator for more accuracy? Does this even matter in small 2D games? Should I look at box2d?

3. Sound/Music: Should I just use WebAudio or should I use a library to take care of the sounds effects and the background music?

4. Responsive: How do you guys make your games responsive across different sizes and ratios? I am making pixel-art assets so I can't simply scale the canvas element as it does not do nearest neighbor interpolation on most browsers. Does the physics become responsive too ie if the platforms are 200px apart on mobile and 400px apart on tablet then the jump velocity needs to be 20px and 40px respectively?

5. Performance: Does it make sense to use Pixi.js? Most of my animations will be frame by frame. Not too many moving objects on the screen, almost turn based.

6. Packaging: I am planning to make it a Chrome app and Firefox OS app. I am also thinking of packaging it using Cordova to publish on mobile platforms (iOS/Android). Any thing to remember if I am doing this sort of a thing?