Gradient background

AustinG08

I am a total beginner with phaser and graphics programming so pardon my newbness. I am trying to do something similar to game.stage.backgroundColor only I want backgroundGradient. The only gradient methods seem to be for BitmapData however. Furthermore I can't even get any BitmapData to render. I just want to make my stage have a background gradient. Can somebody help me? Thanks!

P.S. I have looked at this similar phaser post but couldn't make the canvas example work. http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/3330-gradient-fill-on-text/

Have you looked at this:

/**    * Creates a linear gradient with defined by an imaginary line which implies the direction of the gradient.    * Once the gradient is created colors can be inserted using the addColorStop method.    * @method Phaser.BitmapData#createLinearGradient    * @param {number} x - The x axis of the coordinate for the gradients starting point.    * @param {number} y - The y axis of the coordinate for the gradients starting point.    * @param {number} width - The width of the gradient.    * @param {number} height - The height of the gradient.    * @return {CanvasGradient} The Linear Gradient.    */    createLinearGradient: function (x, y, width, height) {        return this.context.createLinearGradient(x, y, width, height);    },

Pulled straight out of phaser.

Have you looked at this: