1994 Dos games book techniques

James Cat

Hi

I found Andre LaMothe's 'Teach Yourself Game Programming in 21 days' from 1994 in my local charity shop:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/0672305623/ref=pe_217191_31005151_3p_M3_dp_1

Along with 'Tricks of the Game Programming Gurus' also from 1994'

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tricks-Programming-Gurus-Andre-LaMothe/dp/0672305070/

Since I'm new to game programming (not to programing in general) I thought they'd be a nice introduction, so I downloaded DosBox and Visual C++ 1.5 and started playing.

I decided to port things over to Java Script, which isn't too hard as using the underlying UInt8ClampedArray is pretty similar to writing into the VGA buffer (I'm sure everyone here read the trick of using a UInt32 view so elements correspond to pixels)

unfortunately, despite the books bold claims to make you a game programmer,  after some chapters on blitting, it only covers tile-based collision detection 'in theory' and provides no code for that, so this demo really only shows sprite-blitting, scrolling a tile based world and a simple parallax/infinite scrolling background.

http://catplusplus.org.uk/catpsite/plotpixels/canvas.html

Still it seems quite fast on my old netbook, and very fast on the mac I use at work.

Since it has no mouse/touch events you can't really see anything on mobile, but I have made another version that simply acts 'as if' you held down the right arrow until you get to the end of the scroll then goes all the way back

http://catplusplus.org.uk/catpsite/plotpixels/canvas2.html

I would *really appreciate* very much anyone with a mobile who can load the second URL and just give me a basic feedback about whether it works at all, and roughly how many seconds it takes the little man to get from one end to the other.