How to optimize performance ? (Or the "keep the fans off" thread)

meteoritool

Hi everyone !

Remember "Macromedia Flash" ? It is a dead technology that used to allow total freedom at the expense of HUGE computation. It has been abandoned... As much as I loved the possibilities at the time, fact is, running a somewhat simple game within your browser would require all the power and memory your computer could give, no matter how powerful, and in my humble opinion, I'm happy it has been discontinued, I HATED the way my -powerful then- MacbookPro would start to spin its fans at full speed, full noise, full heat.

Now I'm a beginner in trying to master BABYLON.JS, and in my first experiments, I notice the fans of my brand new super-spec MacbookPro behave sorta the same way, soon after loading my scene, the fans start to turn fast and loud, Babylon.js pushes the computer to high temperature. And I don't want my beloved Babylon.js framework to end up like Flash !!! lol 

Checking demos on the official babylon.js site, I notice some of them render well without making the fans turn on (ex : http://www.babylonjs.com/Demos/Sponza/) but others demand too much (ex :http://www.babylonjs.com/Demos/Train/).

###So, trying to make it short, what is the good way to go in order to keep the CPU usage low ? (like in the Sponza demo)###

-Textures: -What is the recommended size ?
                 -How much CPU does it take to use bump, specular, etc... on top of the Diffuse one ?
-Lights:     -Is there dynamic lighting on an optimized scene ? Of which kind ? how many ? How to bake static lighting ?
-Programming: -Is there a way to writing javascript code that would be better than another ?
                         -example: Is calling "scene.getMeshByName("mesh.name")" more demanding than just "mesh" ?
                         -how does the "scene.registerBeforeRender()"should be handled ?