Which HTML5 engine/framework and coding language to choose?

fsquier

Hello! I am a 14 year old student from Estonia (so English is not my mother tongue :) ).

I have choosen to make a computer game as a school project and decided to use HTML5. I understand basic programming and how code works, but syntax is problem for me. I know a bit of JS and some Python. I kind of dislike Javascript syntax, but really like Pyhton syntax since it is easy to undesrstand and I don't know how to code in HTML5 and CSS (but that is not a problem because they are easy to pick up, right?).

Anyway I have tried Construct 2 and can easily make a game in it and I am also willing to buy it's license, but I feel that this engine is a bit limited so I don't know what to do. I will probably use Construct 2 to prototype my game but would like to try Turbulenz engine to build full game, since Turbulenz seems most advanced. On the other hand Turbulenz engine wants me to use JS or Typescript. I understand that Typescript has better syntax than JS but Coffeescript has even better and more Python-like syntax. Is it possible to code in Coffescript, translate to Javascript and use code in Turbulenz engine or is it impossible/too hard?

Also, after I have picked up JS/Coffescript/Typescript, should I move on to the haXe because if I can code in haXe, I can basically develop games/software in C++ ? (C++ syntax is killing me -.-) Thank you! -Sorry for grammar mistakes.

Mother of god!

How could I miss coffescript? Seriously, thank you good sir for showing me the way.

To clarify a bit, my own progression was following:

1, C++ (just because everybody was doing it)

2, C (after stumbling upon this - I dont say you should code in C, but its worth a thought)

3, Python (I was resisting this one for a long time - but seriously, there is no reason for having tons of braces in the 21 century. Once you see it, you cannot unsee it)

4, Forced to work with Java (Job. Mutually agreed hatred inevitable)