Buying a domain to showcase your games

Jadegames

Hi,

I would have finished my first game, Greedy Panda, by the end of next month by the latest, and like many other HTML5 devs, I wanted to get a personal website and host them. I've currently got beta versions of my game hosted on a 000.webhost.com page, for testing mostly, but if I am serious about HTML5 development, I should have a single page where I can blog, display my games etc. 

Problem is I've never done this kind of thing before.

The most obvious ones to use seem to be buying a domain and hosting space all in one go like with Wordpress or SquareSpace but I wanted to know if there is anything I should know or any better alternatives. Or even if having a website at this stage isn't required, I suppose I could just send a tinyurl link to my game, or is that less professional?

Any ideas?

• 2 weeks later...
On 10/23/2016 at 10:42 AM, Jadegames said:

Hi,

I would have finished my first game, Greedy Panda, by the end of next month by the latest, and like many other HTML5 devs, I wanted to get a personal website and host them. I've currently got beta versions of my game hosted on a 000.webhost.com page, for testing mostly, but if I am serious about HTML5 development, I should have a single page where I can blog, display my games etc. 

Problem is I've never done this kind of thing before.

The most obvious ones to use seem to be buying a domain and hosting space all in one go like with Wordpress or SquareSpace but I wanted to know if there is anything I should know or any better alternatives. Or even if having a website at this stage isn't required, I suppose I could just send a tinyurl link to my game, or is that less professional?

Any ideas?