What tools do you use?

stevefromio

Clearly HTML5 gaming tools are hot right now, between Construct2 and GameMaker (which I haven't used), and all the frameworks like Impact.js, there are a lot to choose from.

Does anyone use more than one? Does anyone program the canvas directly? I love to hear from as many people as possible, especially seasoned developers.

I used impactjs for the past year or so, but lately i'm moving to phaser due to better out-of-the-box touch/drag support. I really like impact but i also really like phaser so far.

then i use sublimetext2 for editing.

then i use git and bitbucket for version control and offsite backup.

for graphics touchups (i contract art out to people with a better eye for it than me) i have a subscription to adobe creative cloud.

It's not a good idea to buy game maker studio , especially if you want it only for html5 games.

I don't think the frameworks are much different from each other , but you should experiment and see what fits you most.

For example, you'll find Phaser simple and easy to grab , But if you like coding your games from scratch you might not be all comfortable with it.

I've also heard good stuff about Create.js , and seen experienced people making very polished games with it.

Another good idea is to grab a rendering engine , like pixi.js and code your own games , Like this you can know your own functions and variable names and be more aware of how things are done , instead of memorizing a lot of functions.

@stevefromio : regardless of the engine, getting the hang of mobile game dev (and optimization) takes quite a bit of time. Here we've been working with construct for half a year, and our workflow is just getting nice and smooth. And it's just trial and error unfortunately.