[WIP] Orange Sea - my first game

oddkraken

screenshot2.jpg

I started learning Phaser a few weeks ago and have been having a blast making this game. It's still very much a work in progress, but it has one short chapter with some hazards.

I've experimented with mobile compatibility, but so far haven't been happy with the results, so please try it out on a desktop browser.

Being my first game, I just kind of dove right in, so I'm sure I'm breaking lots of design rules, and I would really appreciate any feedback. I'm specifically concerned about the difficulty - it's tough to tell if a game is too hard when you've been playing it for hours on end. I'm hoping most people can get the hang of it and get to the end of the level after several tries, but I think it's rather challenging now.

Thanks for taking a look, and have fun!

Direct game link: orangesea.oddkraken.com

The only thing that wasn't obvious to me was where I should go. I tried flying up at first, but you get 'shot' down again. Tried flying to the sides too. Ultimately I figured you don't actually  go anywhere, you just dodge the clouds. There were definitely some 'unfair' cloud combinations, where you could get stuck and are then just pushed off the left of the screen. I would have liked some kind of duration timer or something, to let me know how long I was supposed to dodge for (some kind of 'goal' to aim for)

I envisioned the traditional left-to-right movement, so the environment scrolls by faster as you move to the right, but I think the effect fails since I haven't figured out how to get the waves to scroll by as well. I suppose the storm cloud speed should vary too, so I'm planning to revamp the difficulty.

I agree about the duration timer. I didn't want to put numbers on the screen, so I'm using the sunset to indicate the passage of time. I tried to hint at it in the intro text, but it's definitely too subtle.