Advise - Phaser/OpenFL/Something Else

x3fold

Hi, I'm looking for some advise about with framework is the best way forward for me.

I've been tasked by my boss to convert all our legacy AS2 flash interactive elearning content so that it runs within a browser (and on mobile devices) without the need of plugins.

I've been researching and come up with a shortlist of Phaser or OpenFL.

The biggest issue for me is that I'm a Designer, that can code a little. So for me Flash was a perfect platform. I could design all my assets, layout everything how I wanted and then just add code.

Our content isn't massively complex (the most basic is simple Math questions), but there is some complex stuff dealing with Algebraic Modelling and Quadratics, 

A big majority of our content relies on the user entering an answer into a input field and clicking a button to check if they have the answer correct. So the ability to be handle text (large amounts of it) is really important. Originally I had been looking at recreating everything with Animate CC using HTML5 Canvas, but input text isn't supported you have to use DOMElement to link a html input text field and then overlay it over the top - not a major issue if you only have 1 or 2, but unfortunately we have far more than this.

So just looking for a bit of advise - don't want to make the wrong decision and have to rewrite everything a third time!!

Thanks

I don't know OpenFL but Phaser requires plenty of coding experience (its fun though if you wanted to upskill!)