Learning to make polished games

Paul-Andre

People say it pretty often. You have to make finished, polished games to deal with publishers.

I have also seen this trend to make small, simple games, with well refined graphics. Like mini-games.

Of course, there are a few big complex games, and they are the ones that people love the most.

I have made a few games, but I must say what they lack is nice graphics and polish.

Now, considering that I'm pretty new to making html5 games, how will I learn to make "finished and polished" games?

Should I too make a lot of somewhat boring mini-games and clones before I become good at making "finished and polished" games?

I have noticed that making elements unrelated to the game take much more time and code to build.

I'm not even talking about the graphics. I have started to study Inkscape as people advised. Didn't use it for any game yet.

I have a few dream projects at prototype stages, but I'm not sure if I should if I should work on them, since I am scared to somehow break them.

What should I do? Do you recommend making any kind of game (for myself at least) to make me better at polishing and graphics?

Making the core mechanics of a game often takes me less than a day, but then I spend a long time on balancing the difficulty, trying to make it fun, listening to some friends criticisms, adding small graphic details... and that's what I consider to be polishing.

This could help you:

(that's just one aspect of the polishing though)

In my opinion you have to "feel it"

The best games are usually pretty polished.

Take a look at Angry Birds, Cut the rope, Where's my water etc

Those games are simple but yet very polished.

You have to make games that you really like to play by yourself, if you feel something can be done better then go for it until you liked it bored with it )