Is it really so easy to make money on HTML5 games?

NokFrt

Hi,

my name is Tomas and I work as a PC app developer (C#, WPF). Recently I read some articles about making HTML5 mobile games and how to make money from that. I like making games and I've made a lot of them in my life (I started making games on 8-bit ATARI when I was 11 years old, then on Amiga and after that on mobiles (J2ME)). After I read those articles I thought that I can try it too. So I googled best HTML5 games and what I found was a huge surprise for me. Almost all of these best games are really simple unpolished games. I mean these games look much worse than games I made 10 years ago in J2ME. How is it possible that someone in 2013 want to play these games in his/her mobile phone? I mean look at the app stores, there are hundreds of highly polished games which are free or cost just 1 euro and some of them have no more than 1000 downloads - so you can made a good looking game and don't earn anything.

So my question is: Is it really so easy to make money on HTML5 mobile games? I mean it can't take more than 2 weeks to make game like that, so you spend about 80 hours of your time and then you easily sell the game X times for 300 or more USD?

Most of html5 game users are ios users. I think maybe they dont like their phone loaded with lot of crap game apps. Good thing about html5 games is you dont have to install it you an play from browser and if you dont like you can move on.

Hence lots of users try the game  atleast once. Even though games look crap when you play it once you will play it for few minutes. Also keep in mind begining of the app store there were crap games as you see on app store and even they use to sell for a 1$ each. But those were before app store was crowded with apps.