Wilds.io - Multiplayer hack'n'slash

Rezoner

Hiya there, I've just released open beta of a hack'n'slash that I've been working on for about two months (mostly consumed by learning blender from scratch).

http://wilds.io/

The engine is custom made - on the backend there is obviously node.js
The whole architecture consists of a client, lobby (load balancer), multiple game servers and postgres database to store users
Game is 2D - I have modeled these folks in voxels - then animated in blender and exported into a spritesheet using blender internal scripting in python
It's also probably the first game that uses Patreon API as a business model

I am glad to answer any technical questions.

header.png

That's amazing. Did you made everything by yourself? Great work!

Smart move to separate the sprite sheet of the legs and arms to allow rotating them separately. :)

What was your biggest challenge on making it multiplayer?

Keep it up!

Almost.

I bought most of the sounds - also Yeti and Goblin are some stock models.

The biggest challenge was to sync object life-cycle - as in take care of that the client doesn't try to operate on objects that have been already removed - or not yet added.
It's not my first attempt at multiplayer so I find the whole thing rather easy - but I remember that the first time I have read too much about extrapolation (predicting where the object will be) and overengineering the whole thing. Today I don't give a damn about extrapolating data (except very fast objects - like bullets) - I just interpolate everything - which simply means tweening positions to the next set of data received from server.

Also I do not recommend "do it all yourself" attitude I am practicing - it's a waste of time, health and potential. The only upside of it is that there is nobody except you to screw up.

Wow! Very nice graphics and gameplay, seems like there were very many people online!